Mental Battle

My issue with food is a mental one. I eat for comfort, and I have an all or nothing mindset. When I’m trying to lose weight, I find it even harder to resist food. When I slip up and stray from my plan, I tend to say “Well this day is ruined” and I binge. Today is going to be a tough one for me. When I opened the fridge this morning, I saw some left over potato salad, and right away I knew I was going to eat it for breakfast. I had intended on having a meal replacement shake, but once I saw that salad, it was over. I also know that because I’ve eaten it, I’m not going to make it until lunch without eating because my blood sugar will get too low. So, the temptation is just to give up on today and try again tomorrow. What a self-defeating attitude. It is so ingrained in me that I really struggle to let it go.

The reality is, that the salad that I ate was only about 250 calories, not bad for a breakfast – my shakes are 201 – and if I need a snack, a banana or an orange will see me through until lunch. It doesn’t have to be a disaster. If I am ever going to succeed, I need to change this thinking pattern.

I also will have to start planning for situations so that I don’t overeat. Another challenge that I’m facing today, is that my mother is visiting. She usually stops in at a bakery on the way here and buys lunch. The plan here is to tell her about my diet and send the food home with her to give to Dad.

Buying my groceries is another challenge. It’s not the groceries themselves that are the problem, it’s the fact that I have to drive 20 minutes into town and there are fastfood places there. After I’ve done my groceries its usually getting near to lunchtime my tummy is rumbling and the takeaway menu beckons. My plan is to eat a piece of fruit while I’m in town to stave off the munchies.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. madfattergirl
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 02:21:50

    When, I wasn’t doing total meal replacement, I always took my allowed snacks with me. If you don’t you will get so hungry–it won’t matter what will power you do or don’t think you have–you will eat the house down!

    According to my group at UAB, your blogging will make this easier for you. Many blessings from me to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

